Tamil Nadu

20 % turnout in initial phase of polling in TN

Chennai, April 24th

About 20 per cent cast their votes    for  39 Lok Sabha constituencies in Tamil Nadu and the lone seat in Puducherry by 10 am.Brisk voting was witnessed in parts of the city, Karur, Cuddalore, Salem and Tiruvannamalai constituencies as voters queued to cast their votes during the early hours.Tamil Nadu and Puducherry is having single-phase polling on Thursday.

Chief Minister Jayalalithaa, MDMK founder Vaiko, Union Minister in the PMO V Narayanasamy seeking re-election in the Union Territory of Puducherry, Tamil actors Rajnikant, Kamal Haasan. Ajith Kumar were among those who cast their votes.

Expelled DMK leader M K Alagiri, Union Finance Finance Minister P Chidambaram, DMK Treasurer M K Stalin, Kanimozhi, former Union Minister Dayanidhi Maran seeking re—election in Chennai Central and N Srinivasan were other well-known personalities who exercised their franchise.Voting is progressing in Alandur Assembly constituency which is facing bypoll to fill the vacancy caused by the resignation by ‘Panruti’ Ramachandran.Jayalalithaa cast her vote at the Stella Maris College polling station by 9 AM and appealed for voters’ cooperation to EC for peaceful elections.

Apr 24, 2014
More Tamil Nadu

Post Your Comments
Security Code*
More Tamil Nadu
Photo Gallery